Our team

Sally Pearson, Chair

phSally was appointed as Chair of the South West Clinical Senate in September 2017

She is a specialist in public health medicine with over 20 years of experience at Board level in both commissioning and provider organisations, as Director of Public Health for Gloucestershire and more recently Director of Clinical Strategy  for Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS FT.

Sally has an interest in approaches to assessing the performance of professionals and has worked with the National Clinical Assessment Service, NCAS, since its creation in 2002, initially as a Secondary Care Adviser, and currently as an Educational Adviser.

Sally is committed to the delivery of high quality health care and was a member of the founding cohort of the NHSE and Health Foundation Q Initiative, designing the model of a connected community of safety and quality leaders to improve healthcare across the UK. She  represented the Faculty of Public Health on the AoMRC Quality Improvement Group, which promoted the inclusion of service improvement methodology in the curriculum of each Royal College.  She has led Research networks including the Gloucestershire Research and Development Consortium and the Western Local Comprehensive Research Network.

David Halpin, Vice Chair

phProfessor David Halpin is currently a Consultant Physician and Honorary Associate Professor in Respiratory Medicine at the Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital.  He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians, a Member of the British Thoracic Society, European Respiratory Society & American Thoracic Society. David leads a busy clinical department, continues research in respiratory medicine and has published widely. He lectures frequently around the world on COPD and asthma. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Global Initiative on Obstructive Lung Diseases (GOLD) and of the GOLD Science Committee. Until recently he was an Associate Editor of Thorax.

Professor David Halpin trained at Oxford and St Thomas Hospital Medical School: completing a D.Phil. in the Department of Human Anatomy, Oxford, before finishing his clinical training at St Thomas. He completed his postgraduate training in respiratory medicine at the Brompton Hospital. He was the Chairman and Clinical Expert for the COPD Guideline Development Group of the National Institute of Clinical Excellence (NICE) in the UK.  He was Respiratory Clinical Lead for the NHS in the South West 2010-2015.

Ellie Devine, Manager

Ellie Devine SW SenateEllie has worked in the South West for a number of years most recently as a Transformation Programme Manager for the South West Commissioning Support Unit. Previously Ellie worked as a Planned Care and Cancer Services Commissioner for the Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire PCTs. Ellie joined the NHS in 2005 from the charity sector as an NHS Graduate Management Scheme trainee in London. Following the training scheme Ellie worked as an operational manager at St George’s Hospital Trust, London.

Sarah Redka, Senate Support Officer

Sarah Redka SW SenateSarah joined the NHS in 2008, firstly with the Avon, Somerset and Wiltshire Cancer Network (ASWCS) for Bristol PCT before transition to NHS England and the SW Senate. Prior to this, Sarah worked as Event Manager within the private sector.


Ann Cullum, Senate Administrator

Ann Cullum SW SenateAnn graduated from the University of the West of England in 2017. She recently completed an internship in the union and campaigning sector and has wide-ranging experience in voluntary and campaigning initiatives. She previously worked in the private sector in customer services and hospitality.