Senate Council




Secretariat Role
Tariq White Assistant Director of Transformation and Outcomes
Caroline Gamlin Area Team Medical Director
Ellie Devine Clinical Senate Manager
Rachel Perry Clinical Senate Project Officer
Trish Trim Clinical Senate Administrator
Standing members
Sally Pearson Chair
David Halpin Vice Chair
Maggie Rae Public Health Consultant
Joanna Parker Citizens’ Assembly Chair
Vaughan Lewis Clinical Director, Specialised Commissioning
Margaret Willcox Chair or ADASS
Core members
Speciality Medicine
Andria Merrison Consultant Neurologist
Nicholas Kennedy Consultant Anaesthetist and Intensivist
Andrew Tometzki Consultant Paediatric Cardiologist
Peter Rowe Consultant Nephrologist
Paul Eyers Vascular Surgeon
Benedict Lankester Consultant Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgeon and Clinical Director
William Hubbard Consultant Physiologist and Cardiologist
Melanie Feldman Consultant Colorectal Surgeon
Joanna Kasznia-Brown Consultant Radiologist
Emergency Medicine/Surgery
Katie Cross Consultant General Surgeon
Malcolm Dalrymple-Haye Consultant Surgeon
Primary Care
Mary Backhouse GP and Chief Clinical Officer
Peter Bagshaw GP and Clinical Director
Amelia Randle GP and Clinical Lead SWAG Cancer Alliance
Ambulance Services
David Partlow Clinical Development Manager
Mental Health
Paul Winterbottom Consultant Psychiatrist
Philip Rolland Consultant Gynaecological Oncologist
Care of Older People
Sara Evans Consultant Geriatrician
Marion Andrews-Evans Executive Nurse
Jenny Winslade
Chief Nursing Officer
Jane Mitchell  Professional Lead for Physiotherapy
Public Health
Bruce Laurence
 Director of Public Health
Medical Scientist
Diane Crawford Lead Scientist and Director of Medical Physics
Miles Wagstaff Consultant Paediatrician, Neonatologist
Mark Stone Pharmacist Consultant and Devon LPC Lead
vacancy x 2
Bettina Kleuttgens Director of Patient Safety
Anne Pullyblank Medical Director for the WEAHSN
Aileen Fraser Clinical Director
Bettina Kleuttgens Director of Patient Safety
Robert Dyer Lead Medical Director for Devon Sustainability and Transformation Partnership


Governance documents:
SW Senate Operating Principles Updated January 2017

The Clinical Senate Council is the ‘steering group’ of the Clinical Senate, led by the Clinical Senate Chair, Dr Sally Pearson, and consisting of a core membership of senior health and social care leaders, clinical experts and patient and public representatives. As far as possible, the selection of Clinical Senate Council members will be geographically and professionally distributed.

The Clinical Senate Council will take an overview of the strategic direction and business of the Clinical Senate by;

  • Agreeing the Terms of Reference for the Clinical Senate
  • Developing and publishing a set of principles and values that guide the Clinical Senate
  • Being responsible for the formulation and provision of independent advice to commissioners
  • Agreeing the key priorities for the Clinical Senate in consultation with the health and social care system

Senate Meetings Archive